From the Yard…


Open Up

02

This is how it begins…I’ve selected the mahogany, and the top plate of walnut. Today I spent the afternoon resawing, and jointing and general prep work necessary for a successful glue up. I found a piece of walnut with the most figure out of the stack I had to choose from. One of the most exciting moments in woodworking for me is opening up a freshly resawn plank. This piece of walnut once open showed the years of strain and struggle as a branch was extending from the trunk, just another mouth to feed in other words. I’m excited about the wood I’ve prepared, and with the mahogany currently in clamps,  I’m off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

